Yiddishpiel awards

Yiddishpiel Theater Prizes
The Yiddishpiel theater continues the tradition of presenting prizes to outstanding actors, creators, and employees, for the immense contribution they grant in preserving the Yiddish language and culture, its dissemination and making it a way of life.

Lions Israel Merit Award 2010-2011 – Shmuel Atzmon-Wircer honored as Man of the Year by Lions Israel for his contribution to the community in the field of the theater and his “Benevolent Theater” project.

Israel Theater Prize 2010 – for the “Shining Stars” production as Best Show of the Year.

Israel Theater Prize 2010 – the “Carlebach is Alive” production was nominated as Best Show of the Year.

The 2010 Merit Award
– for Life’s Work was awarded to Shmuel Atzmon-Wirtzer during the Jewish Film Festival held at the Jerusalem Cinematic.

Israel Prize for Theater, 2008 – Lifetime Achievement Prize awarded to Yiddishpiel actor Jacob Bodo.

Israel Prize for Theater, 2004, – Lifetime Achievement Prize awarded to Shmuel Atzmon-Wirtzer

Israel Prize for Theater, 2001 – Comedy of the Year Prize awarded to the play “The Golden Boys.”
At the same time, the Lifetime Achievement Prize was awarded to the actor in the starring role, and actor in the theater since its inception, Yankele Alperin.

Israel Prize for Theater, 1999 – for the contribution of the Yiddishpiel Theater to the nourishing and advancement of Yiddish culture, thereby enriching Israeli theater.

Keren Clore Prize, 1998 – awarded to the Yiddishpiel Theater at the President’s House in recognition of its achievement in bringing its productions to the greater public and, in particular, to the population of senior citizens in old age homes.

Itzik Manger Prize, 1997 – awarded to the Yiddishpiel Theater for its original Yiddish plays.